We keep you up to date on current research projects here.

Biography

In cooperation with Fraunhofer IBMT and industry partners, Saueressig develops a roll-to-roll process and a production system for the mass production of multi-functional polymer films for biomedical applications.

The research project aims at finding a way to print graphene electrodes with biofunctional coatings on large polymer films. By using biocompatible graphene ink and high-precision coating of proteins, a cost-effective production of biosensors is achieved. Applications include vaccine validation tests and the development of new medicines and medical diagnostics.

For more information, please visit:
http://www.graphene-biosensors.eu/modx-2.3.3-pl/index.php
http://www.produktionsforschung.de/verbundprojekte/vp/index.htm?TF_ID=104&VP_ID=3867

FOLD

The fine-textured and high-precision surfaces of embossing rollers are typically produced by laser ablation or etching. A typical embossing roller has a width of several meters and a diameter of approximately half a meter – resulting in large material volumes that need to be removed and, consequently, large waste volumes. This increases time and costs.

Saueressig cooperates with Fraunhofer IWS and industry partners to find a way for structuring embossing rollers by means of laser build-up welding and subsequent laser finishing. Amongst other, a new laser processing head is developed with which finest wires can be processed. That way, a highly precise structure with optimum material utilization is ensured.

For more information, please visit:
http://www.photonikforschung.de/service/aktuellenachrichten/detailseite/archive/2015/01/20/article/kleine-strukturen-fuer-grosse-werkzeuge/

Multisurf

The functionality of a surface depends a lot on its specific structure. The most prominent example is the lotus effect that is already used in a variety of products. However, other surface properties, such as antimicrobial or optical attributes, can be produced by micro or nano structuring, too. So far, though, this is possible only for smaller surface areas using lithographic technologies.

The aim of the research project is to develop a new method for structuring larger surfaces by means of direct laser structuring. The technological approach taken is based on multiple beam machining to ensure both the efficiency and profitability of the structuring. Cooperation partners are Fraunhofer ILT, Schepers GmbH & Co. KG and other industry partners.

For more information, please visit:
http://www.photonikforschung.de/service/aktuellenachrichten/detailseite/archive/2015/04/28/article/hoehere-schreibgeschwindigkeit-durch-laserstrahl-aufspaltung/

Bio-reel

In cooperation with the Frauenhofer IBMT, a roll to roll production plant including the corresponding processes for the efficient and structured immobilisation of proteins on bio-compatible film substrates is being developed.

This printing technology can achieve an exactly structured distribution of various culture mediums thereby allowing a controlled growth of in-vitro cell cultures. With a specially optimised printing system proteins are printed accurately on polymer film. Films produced in this way are less expensive than commercially available protein-coated cell culture containers and enable the application of multiple protein substances.

Tribopoly

Together with Frauenhofer UMSICHT, SAUERESSIG is developing a micro-structured polymer surface according to the biological models in order to minimise tribology, friction and wear.

The structures are engraved using microscopic structured embossing rollers.  Organisms that live in the desert have been taken as the example because life in the desert requires extraordinary characteristics. Extreme temperature fluctuations as well as sandstorms that last for hours require extraordinary solutions from both the animal and the plant kingdoms. Micro-structured surfaces allow the dessert pumpkin and lizard to brave the sandstorms. Surfaces are to be created following these examples that can minimise their tribology, friction and wear.

Hier halten wir Sie über aktuelle Forschungsprojekte auf dem Laufenden.

Biography

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IBMT und weiteren Industriepartnern entwickelt SAUERESSIG einen Rolle-zu-Rolle Prozess und eine Produktionsanlage zur Massenproduktion multifunktionaler Polymerfolien für biomedizinische Anwendungen.

Ziel ist dabei der Druck von Graphen-Elektroden mit biofunktionaler Beschichtung auf großflächigen Polymerfolien. Durch Verwendung einer biokompatiblen Graphen-Tinte und der punktgenauen Beschichtung mit Proteinen wird damit eine kostengünstige Herstellung von Biosensoren ermöglicht. Diese finden Anwendung in der Impfstoffvalidierung sowie der Entwicklung neuartiger Medikamente und Diagnoseverfahren.

Für weitere Informationen:
http://www.graphene-biosensors.eu/modx-2.3.3-pl/index.php
http://www.produktionsforschung.de/verbundprojekte/vp/index.htm?TF_ID=104&VP_ID=3867

FOLD

Die fein strukturierten und hochpräzisen Oberflächen von Prägewalzen werden klassisch durch laserbasiertes oder ätzendes Abtragen erzeugt. Für die typischen Abmessungen einer Prägewalze mit Breiten von mehreren Metern und einem Durchmesser von rund 0,5 m ergeben sich damit große Mengen an abzutragendem Material. Dies macht die Strukturierung von Prägewalzen zu einem zeit- und kostenintensiven Verfahren.

Aus diesem Grund arbeitet SAUERESSIG in Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer IWS und weiteren Partnern an der Strukturierung von Prägewalzen mit Hilfe des Feindraht-Laser-Auftragsschweißens und anschließender Laser-Endbearbeitung. Unter anderem wird dabei ein neuartiger Laserbearbeitungskopf entwickelt, der die Verarbeitung feinster Drähte ermöglicht. Damit kann ein hochpräziser Strukturaufbau unter optimaler Materialausnutzung erreicht werden.

Für weitere Informationen:
http://www.photonikforschung.de/service/aktuellenachrichten/detailseite/archive/2015/01/20/article/kleine-strukturen-fuer-grosse-werkzeuge/

Multisurf

Die Funktion einer Oberfläche hängt unter anderem von ihrer spezifischen Struktur ab. Prominentestes Beispiel hierfür ist der Lotuseffekt, welcher bereits in einer Vielzahl von Produkten Anwendung findet. Aber auch andere Oberflächeneigenschaften, wie z. B. antimikrobielle oder optische Eigenschaften, lassen sich durch eine Mikro- oder Nanostrukturierung erreichen. Bisher ist dies jedoch lediglich für kleinere Flächen mittels lithographischer Verfahren möglich.

Ziel des Projekts ist daher die Entwicklung eines neuartigen Verfahrens zur Strukturierung großer Flächen in den erforderlichen Größenbereichen mittels Direktlaserstrukturierung. Als technologischer Ansatz wird dabei die Mehrstrahlbearbeitung verwendet, welche die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Strukturierung ermöglicht. Als Kooperationspartner konnten das Fraunhofer ILT, die Schepers GmbH & Co. KG und weitere Industriepartner gewonnen werden

Für weitere Informationen:
http://www.photonikforschung.de/service/aktuellenachrichten/detailseite/archive/2015/04/28/article/hoehere-schreibgeschwindigkeit-durch-laserstrahl-aufspaltung/

Bioreel

In Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer IBMT wird eine Rolle-zu-Rolle-Produktionsanlage einschließlich des entsprechenden Prozesses zur effizienten und strukturierten Immobilisierung von Proteinen auf biokompatiblen Foliensubstraten entwickelt.

Diese Drucktechnik kann eine genau strukturierte Verteilung von unterschiedlichen Nährböden erzielen und erlaubt somit ein gesteuertes Wachstum von In-vitro-Zellkulturen. Mit einer speziell optimierten Druckanlage werden Proteine ortsgenau auf Polymerfolie gedruckt. Die so produzierten Folien sind günstiger als die kommerziell erhältlichen proteinbeschichteten Zellkulturgefäße und ermöglichen das Auftragen mehrerer Proteinsubstanzen.

Tribopoly

SAUERESSIG entwickelt zusammen mit Fraunhofer UMSICHT eine mikrostrukturierte Polymeroberfläche nach den biologischen Vorbildern, um Tribologie, Reibung und Verschleiß der Oberflächen zu minimieren.

Mit mikroskopisch strukturierten Prägewalzen werden die Strukturen in Folienmaterial eingeprägt. Als Vorbild für dieses Forschungsprojekt dienen Wüstenlebewesen, denn das Leben in der Wüste erfordert außergewöhnliche Eigenschaften. Extreme Temperaturschwankungen sowie stundenlang anhaltende Sandstürme erfordern seitens der Tier- und Pflanzenwelt außergewöhnliche Lösungen. Mikrostrukturierte Oberflächen lassen den Wüstenkürbis und die Echse den Sandstürmen trotzen. Nach diesem Vorbild sollen Oberflächen geschaffen werden, deren Tribologie, Reibung und Verschleiß minimiert werden kann.